The Tragic Optimist

cool vs pretty

Spring has come early this year.  In fact, it feels like winter hardly had a chance.  So we had our first dinner outside.  Nothing fancy: chicken, cauliflower, frozen blueberries that left our fingers purple-stained.

In between handfuls of blueberries, Zoe pipes up: “P [a boy at daycare] told me today about the difference between boy shoes and girl shoes.”

“Oh?” I say, “what did he tell you?”

“He told me that boy shoes are cool and girl shoes are pretty.”

I open my mouth the respond, but Zoe keeps talking, “and I was like, ‘what the heck, P? I think T [another boy at school] has pretty shoes, and your shoes are pretty, and all the girls have really cool shoes!'”

I had nothing more to add.

1 Comment

  1. Love that girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

