The Tragic Optimist

delurking

So I’ve missed (inter)national delurking week (it was last week) here on this blog.  Seeing all the posts on other people’s blogs got me to realize how often I want to comment, but don’t, and it reminded me of how much I enjoy getting comments.  So I have been trying to do my best to move beyond my lurking ways and actually comment on at least some of the blogs I read.  I’m so much more comfortable being an observer – sitting quietly at a party and watching all the interactions that go on, rather than trying to jump in to all the interesting conversations.  Plus, I worry about how to word things “just so.”

In any case, this isn’t so much about my (poor) commenting habit.    I feel like I’ve been a bit of a lurker on my own blog.  I keep composing posts in my head, but they never get written, and then when I think of another I want to write, I think, well gosh, I ought to write that post about new year’s resolutions, but before that, I ought to write about our DC trip, or a Christmas post, or, or, or.

When I started this blog, one of my goals was to get practice writing.  Not just to improve my writing, but also to make it easier.  Writing is hard for me, the words don’t come naturally, but I felt like there was a time when it was getting better.  I want to get back to that, but it turns out that in order to get practice writing, I have to actually write.  So here’s to a new year, a new decade, and to delurking.  My new goal is to just write.  Not to worry about whether my posts are totally chronologically correct, or whether they are just so, but to actually get them out of my head and through my fingers and on to the screen.

7 Comments

  1. geeksinrome

    Oftentimes a topic for a post comes from a conversation I have with someone that day about something. Or reading someone else’s blog triggers a thought or memory.

    I think some of the best stuff is found in mundane everyday life (and of course in exciting adventures, but how often do they happen!?)

  2. I’m glad you’ve resolved to write / post more often – and also to worry less about the post itself. You could write a la e.e. cummings and use no capitalization and I think people would continue to read – well, at least I would 😀

    Also, chronology be damned. I just posted photos from last Christmas in January to Facebook. It’s never too late to write about something you enjoy(ed) or are thinking about.

    Can’t wait to see you – hope Sunday afternoon may be free for you guys! See the Facebook invite for more info.

  3. I can completely relate. I’m trying to comment more all the while come up with things of my own to write about. It’s hard to keep things fresh and new when life is so simple.

    It’ll be nice to have you back. Please pass along any motiviation you find for writing.

  4. Laura

    I so admire your ability to write! I tried to blog but was too worried about who my audience was and never could really get the hang of it. So I mostly lurk and read, like you. Love to read all about Zoe and what you guys are up to.

  5. I never would have thought you had difficulty writing – it comes across beautifully!

    Anymore, I don’t know where my time goes. I feel like I don’t have enough time to catch up on my Reader, comment, write my own posts. And when I sit and think, I’m not sure where my times goes.

    Here’s to 2010 – may the words flow easily for both of us!

  6. We can put so much pressure on ourselves to blog sometimes. But there is beauty even in the everday! That’s what I love about blogs, getting to peak in at someone else’s life. I feel like a dork for posting certain things, but often times I get the best response when I put my objections aside and just hit “publish.” Here’s to blogging in the New Year!

  7. Good luck with the new year! I’m hoping to do the same. More writing. More being a “diarist” as Mel at Stirrup Queens suggests. I find it therapeutic when I do, and I admire the blogs of people who do just that – writing about the changing and growing that happens in our lives.

Leave a Reply

