The Tragic Optimist

the 2009 Nobel Prize in Physics

In honor of today’s announcement of the Nobel Prize for Physics, which went to Charles Kao for his work with fiber optics, and Willard Boyle and George Smith for their invention of the CCD technology (the technology that makes digital cameras work), I offer up a few random pictures that I like, taken on a digital camera and shared on the Internet, which runs on fiber optics networks.

tomatoes from my garden

tomatoes from my garden

Zoe in the dress my mom made for me when I was her age

Zoe in the dress my mom made for me when I was her age

cows at the State Fair

cows at the State Fair

tomato sauce - some assembly required

tomato sauce - some assembly required

Zoe and my best friend's cat

Zoe and my best friend's cat

giraffe

giraffe

butterfly on a flower

butterfly on a flower

purple potato from our farm share

purple potato from our farm share

6 Comments

  1. Great pictures with beautiful colors. Thank you for sharing. Good bye summer. Hello Autumn.

  2. MomZ

    Yea for the digital camera tech. I get to see so many more pics of my favorite grand daughter than my own mother did.

  3. Wanna call me when that tomato sauce is done – I have a feeling it will be delish!

    Great pictures. So colorful!

  4. I bet that tomato sauce was delicious . . .

  5. a

    Great pictures!

    Here from LFCA…regarding your friend’s discussion of miscarriage with patients. I think it is important to only use embryo or fetus when speaking in general terms. She might want to say something like, “In general, a miscarriage happens when there is a genetic abnormality with the fetus/embryo. We don’t know what happened with your baby.” That way, she can give the important scientific information while still personalizing the message. Also, mention that there will be grief, the woman (and her partner) should be aware of it, and they should take some time to go through the grieving process. She should inform the patient that, in most cases, women go on to have successful pregnancies (and back it up with some stats), and when it is physically possible to start trying again.

    Of course, this is only appropriate for a first miscarriage for someone who is conceiving naturally. If there are procedures involved or repeat miscarriages, a little more sympathy for the struggle would be in order, in addition to recommendations for future strategies.

    • thanks a! I just posted a new post to collect the answers, so I’m going to move this there. I really appreciate you taking the time to comment!

Leave a Reply

