The Tragic Optimist

peaceful transfer of power

hope

picture by Anya from untethered nothings

I haven’t made much of a secret of my support for president Obama, so it should come as no surprise that I was thrilled today to get to watch the inauguration.  I watched at work with co-workers and students, all of us happy, hopeful and a bit teary. I love working at a place that encourages us to take time in cases like this to experience and enjoy what’s going on.

Others have written about the historic nature of the election and inauguration.  What this means to our nation, to our children.  But what kept jumping out at me, what really choked me up, was the normalcy.  Every four years, our country comes together to vote.  Every four years there is a peaceful transfer of power.  There are huge ideological differences between the views of people in this country, but when a new administration comes to power, it does so by the ballet, not the bullet.  In light of everything going on in the world, how wonderful is it that this is something we can take for granted?  I’ve had presidents I agreed with, and those I disagreed with.  I’ve voted for candidates that did not win the election, and voted for presidents who did take office.  I’ve been excited, disappointed, thrilled, unhappy, and apathetic about some of our leaders.  I’ve shook hands with one sitting president, but for the most part have watched from many states away as they led our country.  But I have always had a voice, a vote, a say in this political process.  I have been able to express my unhappiness and celebrate my joy openly.  And that makes me proud to be a citizen of the US.

4 Comments

  1. i don’t doubt that Obama will be a vast improvement for the U.S. and the rest of the world

  2. Thanks for the compliment of using my photo! 🙂

  3. Wonderful photo! Our country is definitely ready for a change. This is the first time in a long time I have really been excited about our country’s possible future.

Trackbacks

  1. ode to yoga « The Tragic Optimist

Leave a Reply

