The Tragic Optimist

we come bearing gifts of sick

So I’ve already written as much as I want to about the trip to Chicago.  It was not fun.  No need to re-hash.  Once we got there, Chris and I disagreed on the cause of Zoe’s sickness.  Chris was sure it was carsickness, I was praying that he was wrong.  Why?  Because I didn’t want to have to deal with it again on the drive home.  In retrospect, perhaps I should have hoped for the carsickness.  It was most certainly some kind of nasty stomach virus, since I got sick on Christmas, Chris got sick (really, really sick) Christmas night, mom got sick yesterday, and grandma is sick today (I also learned that a bunch of other families at daycare had the same Christmas fun that we did).  Currently my dad is still holding on to the hope of remaining untouched by the Christmas 2008 plague.  The good news is that it’s a relatively short-lived sickness.  The worst being over in about 12 hours, leaving you exhausted for another day or two, but at least not losing your lunch.  I can also say that I’m glad that we were with my family when it hit.  Zoe was able to play with her grandparents and great-grandmother while Chris and I randomly passed out during the day.  I just wish that hadn’t led to us passing it on to the rest of the family.

So how was everyone else’s Christmas?

8 Comments

  1. Ugh. That sounds horrid. I will say that in retrospect that some of my favorite Christmas memories were when we were all sick. (don’t think it was a stomach bug though)

    Glad to hear you all made it back in one piece.

  2. Laura

    Other than the fact that I had 4 Christmas celebrations (hooray for divorced parents, a huge family on my mom’s side, and in-laws, all in the same city) and was in a wedding all in the span of 4 days, and managed to avoid the virus myself, it sounds like it was pretty much like yours. It even sounds like the same virus. We have pictures of my brother lying on my sister’s floor, surrounded by wrapping paper, with a blanket pulled up over his head and moaning. (You have to imagine the moaning from the pictures.)

    My poor sister was also in the wedding, and managed to have the ceremony fall right in the first 4ish hours of when she was feeling sick.

  3. My daughter just got that 12 hour stomach virus on Monday/Tuesday. We spent four hours in the hospital’s waiting room last night because she had a febrile seizure at 5:30 pm and my husband made me take her in (even though she had already gotten through the worst of it and was fine by the time we saw a doctor).

  4. Wow, I guess it’s really going around everywhere, huh? I’m glad I didn’t have any wedding to be in or anything else that would have required me to stand up while I was sick.

    FW, I’m so sorry your daughter ended up in the hospital to see a doctor. I’ve never seen a febrile seizure before, and I think it would scare me enough to take Zoe if that ever happened to her. Is she feeling better now?

  5. Wow…my little flu (sore throat, fever, aches, cough that just WON’T DIE) seems petty next to that. And I luckily enough got it on Friday (after Christmas when we had 4 people over)…unfortunately that means I missed being outside for our wonderful random 60degree weather, but it’s better than a stomach flu! And now it’s just a matter of sitting through a work day with a cough, sneezing, runny nose, etc….

    Feel better everyone! Hope no one brings this bug to the East Coast! 🙂

  6. Ann, the seizure was awful to witness, but now she is fine. She is eating very little; I guess her stomach is still sensitive. She vomited for about 7 hours early Monday morning, then slept all day. When she woke up in the afternoon, she seemed to be better, but then out of nowhere she got a high fever and had that seizure. In the waiting room I would read her a story (I took our sack of library books because I knew we would have a long wait) and then she would sleep in my arms for an hour. It was really nice to hold her like that. We finally got to see the doctor at 10 o’clock at night and by then my daughter was downright cheerful, totally recuperated. The doctor said that is just what happens when the body is shocked by a sudden virus. I hope you never have to witness a febrile seizure!!! It is very scary, choking on her tongue, digging her fingernails into her palms, lack of eye contact, etc.

  7. Ours was blissfully vomit free! Sometimes having to work on Christmas is a blessing in disguise. Instead of rushing around and trying to visit all families, Hubby & I were able to spend a little bit of time together Christmas afternoon. And, again, no puking!

  8. Ugh, my sympathies. We had a Christmas like that when I was a kid, one person falling ill after another, all lying around on various flat surfaces and moaning.

Leave a Reply

