The Tragic Optimist

scenes from a 2 year old’s birthday party

Craziness going on, but I wanted to quick post some pictures from Zoe’s second birthday party. But that wasn’t really all that quick.

But first! Of course, she can’t turn 2 without a rock hammer for scale shot.

24 months - rock hammer for scale is 13"

24 months - rock hammer for scale is 13 inches

Ok, party people. Here’s the party pics…

craziness - also notice the cat, just hanging out in the midst of all of it

crazyness - also notice the cat, just hanging out in the midst of all of it. Seriously, that cat has no sense of self-preservation. Or dignity.

more crazy kids playing

blowing out the candles on my oh-so-beautifully decorated cake

blowing out the candles on my oh-so-beautifully decorated cake

I have finally reached that age where a party at my house has a "kids table."  And I'm not sitting at it.

I have finally reached that age where a party at my house has a kid's table. And I'm not sitting at it.

cooking is always more fun with a friend.  (and check out the super-cute red Chuck Taylors from Aunt Liz).

cooking is always more fun with a friend. (and check out the super-cute red Chuck Taylors from Aunt Liz).

You know it was a successful party when people (yourself included) end up stripped down to their knickers (err, diapers).

You know it was a successful party when people (the birthday girl included) end up stripped down to their knickers (err, diapers).

8 Comments

  1. I love all the photos – but the last one especially . . . the diaper & high tops combo is a winner – and I’m pretty sure there are 2nd birthday photos of me in a diaper and my Buster Browns! I might have to see if I can find that incriminating evidence of my cake-smooshing abilities.

  2. Cute! Pretty brave of you to have a birthday party for a 2-year-old…I think I was allowed to have one friend over when I was 3, and only had real birthday parties after that…

  3. LeAnn

    I LOVE the red converse shoes! Adorable. 🙂

  4. geeksinrome

    Happy Birthday Z!

    She looks pretty unfazed. and those high tops rule!
    That cat is so brave. Mine would be shivering under the bed.

  5. Looks like a fun filled day! Thank you for sharing. Your cake is impressive, I bet it tasted yummy too.

  6. ohhh yay parties! looks like it was soo fun! LOVE those shoes!!! and love the comment about the kiddy table, haha!

    ohh and happy 2nd B-day Zoe!

  7. elizabeth

    What adorable pictures! Happy birthday to Zoe!

  8. Looks like lots of fun! Congrats on graduating to having a kiddie table at your home. 😉

Leave a Reply

