The Tragic Optimist

8 years ago

It was cold that day.  I remember waiting at the back of the church, freezing cold in the silk dress my mom had made, watching out the door and seeing a few flakes of snow drift down.  In October!  I would have been annoyed or amused, but I was preoccupied.  The woman at the back told me it was time, and I grabbed my parents’ arms, entered the sanctuary and saw all these faces turn to look at me.  I had been calm and collected, but the sight of all those faces of family and friends broke me down.  And there was Chris, at the front of the church, waiting for me.  I think we both smiled through tears.

8 years ago today

8 years ago today

I don’t actually remember much about the service except that my feet were freezing cold on the cold stone floor.  We have an audio cassette tape of the whole thing, so I could listen to it.  If I had a tape player.  Who has tape players these days?  My car doesn’t even play tapes.

I remember walking out of the church and laughing, and seeing a friend who had run into troubles finding a parking spot.  He arrived 18 minutes late.  He missed the whole service.  It was short.  But it was sweet.

At the reception, our photographer was getting antsy since we had only booked him for the first hour or so, he wanted to be sure to get a picture of us toasting.  The champagne wasn’t opened yet, so in our photos, we’re toasting with beer.  The food was very good (we were worried because we hadn’t actually done any tastings).  The friends and family were even better.

I am so happy that we shared those vows eight years ago, I’d do it again in a heartbeat.  And it keeps getting better.  If things are this good now, I can’t wait to see what the next 8, 16, 32, or hell even 64 years hold for us.

18 Comments

  1. Laura

    I’d forgotten how cold it was that day! It was a beautiful wedding. I hope my next 7 years are as good as your last 7. (I think the first one already qualifies.)

  2. William C.

    Congrats to you both! That’s a terrific picture. 🙂

  3. Alison

    Cute picture.

    If you ever want that cassette made into a CD, throw it my way and I can do that easily.

    See you Sunday!

  4. Happy Anniversary!

    What a sweet story. You remember the important moments well. Thank you for sharing them and the picture. Lovely!

  5. Happy Anniversary!

  6. Ah yes…I remember the freezing feet well…good thing the ceremony was short, because I recall I was trying DESPERATELY not to hop from one foot to the other…would not due for a bridesmaid to look like she had ants in her pants! 😀

    Here’s to both of you wonderful friends…as someone who’s always had a shortage of family, having friends like you and Chris has made me feel truly wealthy.

  7. happy anniversary!!!!

  8. elizabeth

    Happy anniversary! What a wonderful beginning for a marriage.

  9. happy anniversary, guys!

    one day we’ll forgive you for being sneaky and bringing a rental car to the reception. ;^)

  10. Thank you for the note you left me today. It was very nice to be reminded that I’m entitled to wallow (sp) in self-pity for a day. I haven’t started bleeding yet, but I know it’s coming. I’m going to see my acupuncturist this evening and hopefully she’ll be able to help with any cramping and bloating. I have faith in her. 🙂

    As for the Clomid and HcGs, for now I’ve convinced myself that Clomid isn’t the solution to my LPD, and that I’m pretty sure the HcGs will be impactful. I’m holding on to hope that it will help me sustain a fertilized egg.

    Our anniversary was on Sept 28th. We always celebrate at a B&B sometime during the fall. The northern regions of the state that we live in are beautiful during this time of year and I’m so looking forward to getting away from the city to enjoy the leaves changing. Autumn is a beautiful time of year to be married, but I don’t need to tell you that. 😉

    Cheers!

  11. Happy Anniversary! It sounds like the love and warm feelings more than made up for the cold feet 😉

    Thank you so much for the kind words on my site today. I appreciate your thoughts so much.

  12. 8 years – amazing how it’s flown by! It was a lovely wedding, and I echo the words above that such a fantastic day was well deserved for you & Chris! Cheers to you – I’ll pop open some champagne (or maybe a beer would be more fitting?) the weekend and raise a toast to you both.

    P.S. My Futurama calendar says Oct 7th was also Thom Yorke’s birthday . . .

  13. Congratulations! Your mom made your dress?? It’s beautiful!

    • That ia a betuaiful idea and much more fitting for a busy little toddler than a garden – also a place for your family to have fun which is what toddlers are all about. =) Praying that you start to have more good moments than sad ones. God bless.

  14. Happy belated anniversary!

  15. geeksinrome

    Happy late anniversary!! You must get a tape player somehow!

    Very sweet picture. You both look so happy 🙂

  16. Andie

    Thanks for sharing, and Congratulations!!!

Trackbacks

  1. review « The Tragic Optimist

Leave a Reply

