The Tragic Optimist

day off

I have Fridays off, but with things so crazy at the beginning of the school year and Zoe’s surgery before that, I haven’t felt like I really had time off until today.  Other than a quick trip to the vet for Tycho’s annual check-up and shots, we had nothing planned for the day.  It was awesome.

  • Zoe and I got to the library.  In what may shock many people, I go to the public library far less often than Chris does.  I may well lose my librarian card for admitting this.  It’s not any particular reason other than I just don’t think of going to a library when I’m not at work at a library.  But we had a great time, and I need to remember it for future days with Zoe.
  • Zoe kept saying daddy all day.  I asked if she wanted to have lunch with Chris, and she gave an emphatic head nod.  So we met for lunch.
  • We also hit the park again today.  Zo mostly wanted to swing, but she also made me get on the swing a couple of times and pushed me, while saying “wheee!”
  • Ever since reading this post on the Eat. Drink. Better. blog, I’ve been wanting to make applesauce, and today I got the chance to pick up some apples and give it a go.  It turned out really well and made the house smell pretty awesome.  I had not realized that applesauce could be quite so silky smooth.  A couple of notes on the recipe:
    • The recipe calls for sweet apples (not pie apples) because there’s no added sugar.  Of course, when I got to the store, I couldn’t for the life of me remember what a good, sweet apple was, because I’m always paying attention to tart apples.  So I picked up cortlands.  The resulting sauce is tasty, but a little on the tart side.
    • The recipe says to leave skin and seeds in and just put the sauce through a food mill to remove them.  I don’t have a food mill, so I peeled and cored the apples, and cut them into eighths instead of quarters.  I just cooked until it all fell apart in the pan anyway and mashed it with the back of a spoon.  Super easy.
    • I added a little cinnamon.
1 Comment

  1. We’re going apple picking today at one of the local orchards. You’ve just inspired me to make apple sauce and apple butter. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

    Have a fantastic weekend!

Leave a Reply

