The Tragic Optimist

coffee date

Today is Wednesday, so I have the morning off again.  This time, Zoe and I hung out together until around 9:45 (she has music class at daycare, which she loves, and I didn’t want her to miss it).

We walked over to my favorite nearby coffee shop / bakery.  The bakery is one of the best in the city, so it’s nice that they decided to locate so near to me.  I got my favorite breakfast there, a fruit focaccia.  It’s a perfect little rectangle of focaccia, but instead of olive oil and rosemary on top, it has fruit (this morning grapes, but they’ve also done strawberries, raspberries and blueberries) baked on top in the little holes that are on focaccia, and it’s dusted in powdered sugar – not too sweet, with yummy little bursts of fruit.  I keep meaning to try to make my own, but it’s so good and so near by, I don’t have much motivation to try.  Zoe got a slice of the rustic bread that they had out for samples. Then a cup of coffee from the coffee shop and we were good to go.

The coffee shop has a sign saying “unattended children will be given an espresso and a puppy.”  I’ve since seen that sign other places, but this is the first place I’d seen it, and it always makes me chuckle.  Despite the warning, I settled Zoe onto a chair with her bread and walked a couple steps away to get her a glass of water.  I was a little disappointed not to find a puppy and espresso when I got back, but maybe it’s for the best.

I thought about other people I’ve had coffee with through the years: friends, boyfriends, coworkers, fellow students, family members.  Thought about our conversations as I listened to Zoe point out the dogs, babies, trucks, and other nouns that passed by the window.  Though I’ve had many great times getting coffee with others, many great conversations, and I look forward to meeting up with most of the people again over coffee, today, this morning, there was no one I’d have rather seen across the table from me than Zoe.

7 Comments

  1. awe! so sweet!! I love that you go out for coffee with her, that is so wonderful! I am soo doing that with Twinkle!

  2. That sign always makes me laugh. One evening, a man was walking in front of our house with his 2-year old son. The little boy was sweet, but was seriously acting like he was on speed. The man said his son had downed a frappichino and he didn’t notice until it was too late, so he was trying to walk the caffine out of him.

    Each time I see that sign, I think of him!!

  3. How sweet to go to the coffee shop with Zoe, that must be such an awesome feeling. It’s crazy how life changes, isn’t it? As seen through your changing coffee shop partners over the years. 🙂

  4. This post made my eyes water a little. Beautiful.

  5. Zoe’s great morning bakery company. On my birthday, we headed over to The Baker’s Wife and had donuts – another great morning.

  6. Brilliant! M and S go for donuts every Sunday morning, and they both love it.

Trackbacks

  1. review « The Tragic Optimist

Leave a Reply

