The Tragic Optimist

15 things

I was tagged by Melinda (thanks!) last week and am just now getting around to this.  I hope that everyone who celebrates it had a wonderful Independence Day, and that everyone else had a great weekend.  We took it easy – went to a bunch of cooks outs and took a lot of walks.  No fireworks yet, but we’re really looking forward to Zoe being old enough to go to them.  They’re just so late when you live far enough north that it doesn’t get dark until around 10.

Blog Tag Rules: Answer these 15 questions on your blog. List: 3 joys, 3 fears, 3 goals, 3 current obsessions/collections, 3 random surprising facts. Tag 5 people by leaving their names at the end of the post.

3 Joys:

  1. That first day of spring in Minnesota, when it’s warm enough to go outside without bundling up, and everyone and their dog heads out to one of the lakes and walks around with this look of absolute bliss at the fact that they can once again enjoy the fresh air and outside without risking death.
  2. Making Zoe laugh, usually by doing physical comedy – that really deep, full-body laugh that toddlers do.  I’m a sucker and I’ll do almost anything to get that laugh out of her.  Luckily, she laughs easily.
  3. Working with a student who thinks that their research is impossible, and managing to help them find what they’re looking for, and all of a sudden their eyes light up as they start to get really excited about the research they’re doing and the stuff they’re finding.  Makes me love my job.

3 Fears:

  1. Looking stupid.  I’m always afraid of making a fool of myself or doing something to let others know that I might not always know what I’m doing.  It’s one of the things I’d most like to change about myself.  I really wish that sometimes I’d just up and do it, who cares what others think, how else can I learn if I don’t look stupid occasionally?  It’s one of the things I hope Zoe does not learn from me
  2. Touching already chewed chewing gum.  Seriously.  I have trouble carrying tables in the library because I fear touching the gum.  I hate even thinking about it.
  3. Starting up the trying to conceive thing again and not succeeding (no, we’re not trying right now)  Not that I fear only having one child, because I’m extremely happy with our little family of three.  But I hate the idea of deciding to go for it and spending the energy and having nothing to show for it.

3 Goals:

  1. Spend a summer on Antarctica, preferably doing library or some kind of research assistance, but really, I’d just be happy being there.
  2. Work with an author to help them with the research they need to do for their book and then be mentioned by name in the aknowledgement section of the book.
  3. Get back into yoga.


3 Current Obsessions:

  1. Baking bread.
  2. My blog stats.  I know it’s totally silly, but I check a couple times a day and I get really excited when I have a relatively high number of visits (I don’t get all that many, so it doesn’t take much to get me excited).
  3. Doctor Who.  Man I do love that show.

3 Random, Surprising Facts:

  1. I hate driving.  I speed so that I can cut the time as much as possible.
  2. I am a chocolate purist.  I really believe it’s an affront to chocolate to pollute it with things like peanut butter or hazelnut.  The exception is mint.  Mint and chocolate is ok.  Though not as good as just straight chocolate.
  3. I’ve co-authored three articles about rocks that had been deposited by ancient tidal estuaries.  By looking at the layers, you can see what the ancient lunar cycles were (they were shorter in the past as the moon was closer).  I love lunar cycles and tides and rocks.

So now to tag.  I tag YOU!  Yes, internets, I choose all of you!

6 Comments

  1. wow! so much info here! I love that you make Zoe belly laugh, sooo cute! I am also addicted to my stats section, it is crazy really. And so neat about the choclate. I will take it in any form, but interesting that you like it pure!

  2. This is a nice meme, Ann. You are a great writer! Did you see that last month I did the meme you tagged me with? You were vacationing when I published it.

  3. Thanks!

    FW – I did see that you wrote the meme, but I hadn’t had a chance to really sit down and read it with the attention it deserves. Heading there now.

  4. geeksinrome

    what an interesting life!! I love rocks and chocolate so your experience with rocks leaving evidence of lunar tides… very neat. The chocolate is so good in Italy! also they make a killer ice cream here with chunks of pear and chocolate uuuuuhh.

    I will click on your site more often to amp up your stats!! 🙂

  5. Gus

    I’m afraid I might have something to do with the whole hating driving thing, as Ann was a passenger in two of my cars in high school when they were totaled. Sorry, Ann.

    And I totally agree about Doctor Who.

Trackbacks

  1. Blog Tag Special « Geeks In Rome

Leave a Reply

