The Tragic Optimist

Taggity goodness

I was tagged by Kat at Oranges and Peaches, so here goes:

What was I doing 10 years ago?

  • Working as a programmer at a software company, had moved from new development to customer support and training
  • On a brief break from dating Chris. We’d get back together in just a couple of weeks
  • Had just moved into my own apartment by myself – I had been living with 3 roommates before that
  • Had just bought my first car – a 1995 hail-damaged Honda Civic

What are 5 things on my to-do list for today?

  • Laundry
  • Celebrate Mother-in-law’s birthday – yay!
  • Pack picnic for aforementioned birthday
  • Clean up around the house
  • Respond to some emails

Snacks I enjoy….

  • Chocolate
  • Cheese
  • Chocolate chips melted in a flour tortilla, rolled up
  • Pita chips with cinnamon and sugar
  • Chocolate

Things I would do if I were a billionaire: [wow, a billion is a lot, this could be fun]

  • Pay taxes happily
  • Buy a new house that’s a little bigger and remodel the kitchen, with the same designer that did our current kitchen
  • Pay for someone to do native plant landscaping so we wouldn’t have to worry about landscaping upkeep
  • Pay off mortgages for family
  • Set up endowment funds to fund research in
    • Children’s vision
    • Clean, renewable energy
    • Infertility, particularly reducing the risk of multiples
  • Pay to go into space – they still do that, right?
  • Set up an endowment fund to support the new Community Sponsored Agriculture farms
  • I’d want to keep my job, but I would also want to work only a few days a week, and that’s really not fair to my coworkers, so I’d probably end up quitting.
  • Oh, throw a big party. Biiiig party. You’d all be invited. There would be free childcare. And crash space.

Places I have lived:

  • South Dakota (3 different locations)
  • Colorado
  • Indiana
  • Germany (2 different locations for one year combined)
  • Minnesota (4 different locations not counting college)

Jobs I have had:

  • Babysitter (from age 11 on)
  • After school child care at local elementary school (high school)
  • Research assistant at Indiana Geological Survey (high school and college, summer and winter breaks)
  • Circulation desk assistant (college)
  • Software developer, Software programming trainer, Customer Support consultant, Supervisor, Interim Manager (post-college, 7 years in total, the interim manager job was the worst 8 weeks of my working career)
  • Science Librarian – Yeah!

Bloggers I’m tagging for this meme…[but only if you want to – this is the first time I’ve ever actually tagged anyone]

6 Comments

  1. ha ha! this one is going around! your the third person to tag me for it! so it is done, thank you for the tag 🙂

    i love all your billionaire ideas!!

  2. I think I might actually do this one. Of course now I am feeling awfully old realizing that it was 10 years ago. I mean, intellectually I know I started at that place in Sept 1997, but . . . argh. I count it as a win because I’m still friends with you, actually 🙂

  3. Wow!! You were much more ambitious with your money than me. I got so overwhelmed . . .

    Orion’s picture is on my page just below Mel’s Show & Tell pic. It is one of my all-time favorite pictures of him and I cropped out all but his face. I am afraid there isn’t enough memory in the internet world to post all my pictures of him . . . He is much loved and knows it!!

    I actually only showed him for a year because he HATED it. I had fun, but what Orion wants, Orion gets.

  4. I will eventually get around to doing this! Thanks for the tag. Your answers are so comprehensive and seem well-thought-out. So I will be thinking.

  5. I realized after I tagged you that it didn’t really fit your theme for the month. I spent an embarrassingly long time thinking about the billion dollar question – to the point of trying to figure out how much to endow each of the research funds such that there would be enough money annually to be of any help. As if I thought there was a chance that it could happen.

Trackbacks

  1. Explain Yourself Meme « Fighting Windmills

Leave a Reply

