The Tragic Optimist

She’s back!

The bunny mama from last year (at least I assume it’s the same bunny) has returned and once again, the front yard has new bouncing babies. To be fair, I haven’t actually seen them bounce yet, and I don’t know how many there are, but there is certainly at least one little fluffy critter burrowed down in our front yard. I had seen the mama bunny making a burrow earlier, but then after the hail storm and rain, I hadn’t seen her again and thought maybe something had happened to her. I was actually very concerned about her during the hail storm. What if she’d given birth during that storm? I really don’t like bunnies in my yard at all, but the idea of her out in the storm made me want to find her and bring her inside (which would be a complete disaster given our hunter kitties). Anyway, yesterday, on a whim I decided to check out the burrow just to see if it really was still empty. Here’s what I found.


burrow with mama bunny’s fur

 


glimpse of the babies

 


baby bunny ear

 

I’ll try to watch the next couple of nights to see if they come out of the burrow to feed.

 

Now, I hear that some people consider bunnies to be fertility symbols (for reasons not particularly obscure). Since we’re not in the market for fertility symbols at the moment, I’m happy to share that symbolism with anyone who’d like it, though I’m not sure how that would work.

3 Comments

  1. That is awesome! I love the photos with all the fur. Your blog is the only place I’ve ever seen a real bunny burrow. I’m used to the ones in Margaret Wise Brown’s books. 🙂

  2. Yeah, I had never seen a real burrow until last summer when the bunny and babies moved in. It’s pretty deep and really well covered with grass and fur. It’s crazy, it’s not like I’m in the country, I’m in the middle of Minneapolis, but I do kind of like having my own nature show in our yard.

Trackbacks

  1. the bunny « The Tragic Optimist

Leave a Reply

