The Tragic Optimist

“Wonderful thoughts which can never be said” – or National Poem in Your Pocket Day

Today is the first ever National Poem In Your Pocket Day, and everyone is encouraged to pick out a poem and share it with friends and family today. I don’t read a lot of poetry, so I don’t have a lot of poems to choose from, but a friend found this poem for me years ago, and it still brings a huge smile to my face every time I read it.

Buttercup Days

Where is Anne?
Head above the buttercups,
Walking by the stream,
Down among the buttercups.
Where is Anne?
Walking with her man,
Lost in a dream,
Lost among the buttercups.

What has she got in that little brown head?
Wonderful thoughts which can never be said.
What has she got in that firm little fist of hers?
Somebody’s thumb, and it feels like Christopher’s

Where is Anne?
Close to her man.
Brown head, gold head,
In and out the buttercups.

-A.A. Milne. “Now We Are Six”

4 Comments

  1. Heather

    Yay! I love it! Thanks so much for sharing, annz, it brought a smile to my face, too.

  2. National Poem in Your Pocket Day- I’ll have to remember this date for next school year! One of my favorite poems is by Gwendolyn Brooks. I like to start my poetry unit out with this one. It’s a great one for analysis with middle schoolers (and high schoolers, for that matter):

    We Real Cool by Gwendolyn Brooks

    The Pool Players: Seven at the Golden Shovel

    We real cool. We
    Left school. We

    Lurk late. We
    Strike straight. We

    Sing sin. We
    Thin gin. We

    Jazz June. We
    Die soon.

  3. Wow, Kymberli, that’s a very striking poem, thanks for sharing it. I wish I’d had a teacher like you that could have better introduced me to poetry. I’m only just now learning the joy a really well-crafted poem can bring.

  4. Hey, i was looking around your posts and found several wp errors on firefox, just thought i’d let you know

Leave a Reply

