The Tragic Optimist

springtime!

It was finally warm enough to get a little outside time today.  Crazy what a little sunshine and fresh air can do for a person’s mood and energy.  There’s still some ugly snow piles here and  there, but for the most part, the snow is gone, leaving the wet, frozen, brown ground exposed.

Zoe and I decided (well, I decided, but Zoe didn’t protest) to take advantage of the weather and get out to the park.  It’s been nearly 6 months since we went to the park, so it was fun to see her playing there now that she’s a bit older.  I had kind of figured that she’d be old enough to climb on some of the playground equipment, but she’s still a bit too little.   She seems so big until I see her next to the other kids at the park and watch her trying to climb on some of the playground equipment.  I try not to be overprotective, but once she’s up there, she doesn’t know how to get down.  I overheard one of the boys at the playground say to his dad, “want to hear something silly? There’s a baby wearing glasses!”  My first thought was, that’s not silly.  And then, she’s not a baby!  I talked to him a little about how she needed glasses to see, and the boy was pretty sweet about it.

She loved the slide.  She was a little wary of the swings at first, but then kept asking to do more swinging.  She didn’t want to walk in the sand, which killed my hopes of seeing her run around at the playground, but I expect she’ll get used to it.  She didn’t not want to leave the park at all.  I promised her that we’d be back soon.  And we will.

2 Comments

  1. Mmmm . . . I love it when spring is in the air. Just warm enough to make you feel good but not too hot to sweat. I would have loved to been at the park today, too!

    I am going to make myself hold out the full 14 days, so testing on Saturday. Wish me luck!!

  2. Going to the park and watching them romp around is one of my favorite times. Kaelyn loves the slide. I remember the first time I let her climb up the big kid slide by herself this past fall. I nearly had a heart attack, but when she came whizzing down, landed butt-first into the sand below and, and then cracked up laughing, I knew she was going to be alright, and I was too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

