The Tragic Optimist

15 Month Update

Zoe’s appt was this morning. It’s like she was studying, she’s exactly on the 50th percentile for both height and weight. Full stats:

  • height: 30.5″
  • weight: 22 lbs 11 oz
  • head circumference: 18.5″ – 75th percentile

The pediatrician thought Zoe was looking good and doing all the things that a 15 month old should do. I was (I suppose I still am) a little worried that she’s not talking a lot – she says “dad” and has a specific sound for the cats “ah!”, and knows the signs for “more” and “all done” but that’s about it. She does very well communicating her wants and needs, so at the moment, I guess she’s doing what she needs to be doing. Still, I long to hear her ask for “mama.” It’s awfully cute when she exclaims “dad!” when Chris walks in.

(I feel so web 2.0 – I posted this from facebook)

3 Comments

  1. At 19 months (15.5 adjusted), S had a vocab of 5 words and signs (hi, bye, mama, dada, up) – early intervention didn’t consider her delayed at that point (by her adjusted age) so Z sounds like she’s right on track. That’s when we started signing with her really seriously and her language really took off – but I think that five words/sounds/signs at 15 months is fantastic.

  2. Eve

    Your 15 month old is bigger than my 19 month old!
    And I would definitely not worry about her language–Eleanor has maybe a dozen words now, and she learned most of them in the last few months. Does Zoe show some understanding when you talk to her (ie, go get something if asked?)? I think language comprehension is a lot more important than language production at this point.

  3. I think she understands, but I think she doesn’t listen. There’s definitely some communication there, but she’s not so keen on doing what she’s told.

Leave a Reply

