The Tragic Optimist

Four eyes are better than two

at least that’s the theory. The ophthalmologist didn’t think the patch was making any difference (and we agreed), so we’re trying glasses. The idea is that since Zoe is far-sighted, she crosses her eyes when trying to focus. The glasses came today, and so far it seems to be going all right. She did great at the glasses shop – no crying, mostly just looking around really intently, like all of a sudden she was seeing things differently. Which is what we’re hoping for. At home, she started trying to take them off and put them back on, and waving them around. We’ll keep trying each day and hope that she’s used to them by Monday when she’s back at daycare.

I’m trying really hard to stay positive about all of this. It helps that there are a lot of cute choices for glasses and that they can make the lenses thin so you don’t get the super magnified eye distortion. I feel shallow for being caught up in Zoe’s appearance in the glasses – especially since I wear glasses and even enjoy shopping for them – so I’m not entirely sure what my problem is. Maybe I’m worried that everyone will focus on the glasses rather than on her, I just don’t know. And part of it (and this is the terribly embarrassing shallow part) is that I had set aside flex money to splurge on a new pair of glasses for myself, and her glasses ate up 2/3 of that money. Of course, if it corrects the crossed eyes and keeps her from needing surgery (the next step if glasses don’t work), then I’m all for it. Maybe once she’s bigger we can shop for frames together.

Added: Gah, what’s wrong with me? I just keep looking at all the pictures we took today of her in her glasses (most of which only show her side or top of her head – she just doesn’t hold still or pose for pictures). It’s like I need to keep looking at them to convince myself that it’s her. Ridiculous. She’s still the same girl. Just with a slightly more bookish air to her.

Update: If you’re looking for more information on babies, toddlers and young children with glasses, check out my other blog, Little Four Eyes.

7 Comments

  1. She’s beautiful! Thanks for being so open about how you feel. I’m sure you’re just at one stage of adjusting to this and you’ll be pleased in the end. Her shoes are really cute, by the way!

  2. Oh goodness! She looks so cute!

    I kept expecting glasses like my little cousin had 7 or 8 years ago, and these are NOTHING like those glasses. My little cousin had to deal with super-thick lenses that basically obscured her eyes altogether. Zoe’s glasses just make her look wise and don’t seem to obscure anything about her beautiful eyes.

    But I think I know how you feel. I didn’t get glasses till I was 21, and when I did get them it felt like I’d failed some test I didn’t know I was supposed to study for. I looked different to myself, felt different, mourned my perfect eyesight, and didn’t have any of those habits (like taking glasses off BEFORE putting on a turtleneck) that help glasses fit into my normal life.

    Zoe’s developing good habits early. 🙂

    She’s also just do darned CUTE! And I love the thought of her seeing her world better.

  3. Ann

    Thanks! We love those shoes, too – little monkeys on our little monkey.

    And Iris, I still forget to take off my glasses before putting on a turtleneck, and I’ve had glasses since I was 8.

  4. amberhj

    Hi, I’m doing obsessive research right now as I just found out my 20-month-old daughter has the same eye issue(s) as Zoe. I love Zoe’s first pair of glasses and am wondering what brand they are? I know these are from a while back but I’m chasing down any leads I can on cute toddler glasses. I saw this picture (of Zoe in her fabulous first glasses) on your littlefoureyes.com site, but I didn’t see any identifying info about the glasses. Thanks so much for being a source of comfort and information for us and so many others.

    Amber
    http://lifeandtimesofstella.com

  5. Hi Amber! We loved Zoe’s first pair of glasses! They’re Grant Italia (http://www.grantitalia.com/ – that website is extremely unhelpful, just warning you now), which as far as I can tell can only be bought at stores, not online. She now has a pair of Ronit Furst and a pair of Lafont.

    Good luck to you and your daughter. I did a ton of obsessive searching when Zoe first got her glasses, too! Feel free to send any other questions my way.

    Ann

Trackbacks

  1. better but not perfect « The Tragic Optimist
  2. Past worries and current realities « little four eyes

Leave a Reply

