The Tragic Optimist

why I shouldn’t be relied upon in the middle of the night

Zoe woke up in the middle of the night last night – which would have been a totally normal thing, except that she had thrown up at some point. It was the middle of the night and I didn’t turn on the light so I didn’t realize it until after nursing for a bit, she threw up again (all over me). It was the middle of the night (sense a theme?) and I didn’t turn on the light, so I just thought she’d spit up a little and wiped up and kept nursing, until she sat up and threw up again. I catch on slowly in the middle of the night.

The book we have from the American Academy of  Pediatricians has a little section on vomiting. It talks about how hard it is to watch your child vomit, since they’re clearly unhappy, but there’s really not much you can do to make it better, and while you know it’s probably normal, but you worry there might be something going on. What the AAP fails to mention is that it’s hard to watch your child vomit because it’s disgusting. And then your child wants you to hold her, but both you and her are covered in disgusting vomit. Yes, yes, I worry about her health and hate to see her upset and do what I can to comfort, but, again, disgusting. Zoe seemed surprisingly chipper after all was said and done. As she watched Chris and I clean up a bit, she picked up a burp rag and started wiping the floor and the rocker herself. Such a sweetie.

So no eye doctor appointment today. Didn’t think it would be good for Zoe to go out in the cold and be upset by eye drops and bright lights – she hated that last time. And I didn’t think it would be good for anyone else to be exposed to a sick child. Zoe’s currently sleeping right now. I haven’t given her any solid foods yet, so after planning to try to get on something of a nursing schedule, we’re back to nursing whenever she needs it at least for the next day or so.

2 Comments

  1. Alison Sommer

    Ah, the joys of motherhood. That doesn’t sound fun at all. I hope Zoe feels better soon.

  2. Oh, that’s so gross. Well, at least be glad you can nurse her through it. My son went a few days with just nursing, no solids, even when he was 18 months. He was sick, he didn’t want any food at all and he was the boss.

    I hope Zoe gets better soon. I’m sure you made the right decision not taking her to her eye appointment.

Leave a Reply

