The Tragic Optimist

11 Months

The end of summer / beginning of fall is always the busiest time for me at work as we get ready for students to return, so I apologize for not posting nearly as much as I wanted to. It’s been tough getting back into the groove of the academic year after the long summer days spent playing with Zoe.

Speaking of Zoe, she’s 11 months now. 11 months and 2 days in fact. We did get the rock hammer photo on her 11 month birthday. I’m having trouble choosing a favorite, so here’s a couple:


Zoe triumphs over the rock hammer!

and


“What do you mean, ‘rock hammer for scale’? Rock hammer is clearly for teething.”

It seems like she’s really accelerated her learning recently.  She’s started imitating things we do: feeding Chris a chip, wiping off the table, trying to comb my hair.  It’s very, very sweet.  She’s also on the verge of walking.  She’d been taking steps accidentally when we would stand her up and let go – kind of step, step, fall, and then if we stand her up again, she’d sit right down immediately.  The girl’s not dumb.  But yesterday we let go of her and she got this determined look on her face and took three steps to Chris – with a huge grin on her face the whole time.  And then she repeated it, walking to me.  And this morning she was standing holding on to me when the cat walked past, so she let go of me and took two steps towards the cat before sitting down.  So we’re counting last night as the first real steps, but I’m not quite ready to say that she’s walking.  I’m not sure if I’m ready for that yet.

Leave a Reply

