The Tragic Optimist

Getting close to back up and running

I’ve gotten most of my posts back and into this new blog. I haven’t brought any comments over, though. It just didn’t quite seem worth it. If there are comments that you made that you want me to search out and re-add, let me know and I’ll see what I can do. I haven’t tagged the posts yet either, but I will get to that.

Reading through all the old posts and I add them back in has been interesting. No real flashes of insight or anything, but it’s been kind of fun to re-read the posts. It’s gotten me thinking about the focus of this blog. Its primary purpose is certainly to keep family and friends (those that I’ve met in person, and those that I haven’t) up to date on the girl. Not that people aren’t interested in my life, but I know that Zoe’s far more interesting. I do want to keep some focus on the infertility aspect though. Not that it has as much direct impact on my life now, but it keeps popping up for me. Sometimes I feel like I should just get over it already, I have Zoe, why focus on the crud that came before, but I can’t quite let it go. I don’t want to fixate on it, but I expect it will continue to come up. And of course I’ll probably add the occasional random thought.

I did take this opportunity to start another new blog AnnTheLibrarian, that one will be more science-y library-y related. I’d been wanting to start that blog for a while. I’m hoping I’ll be able to keep both up to date. I don’t really like writing, I’m not good at it, and it doesn’t come easily for me, but I have to write for my job sometimes, and I know that the more I write, the easier it gets, so in a way, these are just my selfish way of making my job and life easier.

And now, what the girl updates – what you were all here for anyway… She’s got 1 tooth and another that’s really close to popping through. That coupled with a cold has made sleep a little less prevalent recently. We finally figured out that she was teething again and have been giving her pain reliever before bed, which helps. She’s also just about to crawl – she clearly understands that she should be mobile, and she gets why mobility would be cool, she just hasn’t quite figured out how to move her arms and legs together in just the right way. We should be taking the opportunity to childproof. We haven’t yet. She also likes mango.

Leave a Reply

