The Tragic Optimist

Questioning Genetics

Zoe appears to be a morning person. Fortunately, not one who wakes up stupid-early (or the “crap of dawn” as my neighbor growing up called it), but she’s all smiles and laughter when she wakes up, and she’s talkative too. All without the benefit of coffee. How is it possible that she’s my daughter? Chris claims that if I got 10-11 hours of sleep every night plus a couple of naps during the day, that I’d be the same way, but he’s wrong. I might want to sleep in a little less (not that I’m able to sleep in anymore), but I’m not smiley and talkative after waking up, no matter how much sleep I get. At least both Zoe’s and my conversations before coffee are unintelligible.

Leave a Reply

