The Tragic Optimist

No Real Point to the Story

Though I love the song “Still Fighting It” by Ben Folds, it has almost always brought me to tears. While we were still trying to conceive, the lyric “you’re so much like me, I’m sorry,” was the one that got me. It so elequently summed up what I was missing. Then when I was pregnant, it was the line “you’ll try and try and one day you’ll fly away from me” that put a lump in my throat. Tonight I heard the song and sang along to the whole thing without choking up even once. And that’s my story.

Leave a Reply

