The Tragic Optimist

“learn about new things that I’ve never heard of”

Hazel is now 3 1/2 years old. At bedtime, recently, she’s been asking if we could travel to China. I’m not sure where she got the idea that she wanted to go to China. She doesn’t really have a firm grasp on geography yet (if you tell her we live in Minnesota, she’ll argue that no, we live in Minneapolis). She does know that it’s a long airplane flight – I’m sure that’s part of the appeal. So I asked her what she thought she’d do if we visited China.

“Well, I’d learn about new things that I’ve never heard of”

Which… is a pretty good argument for travel, actually.

A pretty good goal in life, too.

2 Comments

  1. PatsyZawistoski

    I love it. The most perfect anwser I’ve heard in a long time

  2. Mel

    That’s actually brilliant. The best reason for travel.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

